Confessions of a Liacom student

When most of my elders ask me what I’m majoring in college, I’d say “Liacom” then there’s that puzzling and skeptic look on their faces just judging you so hard and intently.

LIACOM or Liberal Arts and Commerce is a 5-year program where students can take up two majors or undergraduate degree – one from the College of Arts and Sciences and one degree from the College of Business and Accountancy. I don’t know that it was possible but I first found

The thought of having two degrees and two diplomas is exciting but it be quite a workload! You basically double your homework, quizzes, exams, thesis… but graduating from a 5-year course with two degrees sounds so sweet and fulfilling.

Currently, I’m a senior for my AB Communication degree and a junior for my BS Marketing Management degree. I asked and no, I can’t take both degrees together in freshman year, I have to wait another year to start my 2nd degree so it means I’m in Uni for five years. Basically, while most of my batch mates have only THREE classes for their last semester, I have nine – five of which are majors and a lot of minors for my second degree.

Being a senior, means by now I have learned the ropes of the #LIACOMLyf. So this post is basically a compilation of either hacks or the struggle that comes with juggling two undergrad degrees, and an organization plus the main priority which are the acads of course!

 

HACK: MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EXTRA STORAGE ON YOUR PHONE!

Having a lot of classes means a lot of note taking! Most professors, however, allow their students to take photos of the powerpoint presentations instead of using up all the ink of your favorite FineTech C3 pen. And of course, since you decided to make your complicated by taking up 2 degrees, then you should make room for a lot of photos of your notes unless you have unlimited storage on your phone.

file_009
This is my actual reviewer for my Philosophy 2 class!

Tip: If you have a lot of notes on your phone, try to word-process them during the weekend or at least a week before your term exams. This makes your notes more organized and you won’t have to cram making a reviewer for exams plus you’d save a lot of storage!

 

STRUGGLE: YOU WOULD MOST-LIKELY BE AN IRREGULAR AND HAVE CONFLICT SCHEDULES DURING EXAMS!

file_0051
I had to zoom my phone’s camera so I could see clearly and take a photo of the power point my professor gave. I also had to sit at the last row because I was late and I had nowhere to sit up in front or in the middle rows.

Being irregulars, you’d have to mingle with the block class you’re in so in case you miss a lecture, you’d have someone to ask what happened in class.
Being an irregular for almost two years:

 

  • I know I’d have to wait for the last day of enrollment so I’d get the perfect schedule,
  • I’d have to sit either in front or at the back of the class,
  • Conflicts during exams are hell! Especially when it’s both majors,
  • Some block classes think so highly of themselves and it’s kind of funny because you’re like two years older than them.
  • Some professors aren’t as understanding when it comes to conflicts, and lates.
  • Sucks if you have 5 hours straight classes (and 5 different subjects! YES it happened to me!)

 

PRO: YOU GET TO FREELY CHOOSE YOUR SCHEDULE AND BE CLASSMATES WITH YOUR FRIENDS (WHO ARE AND AREN’T YOUR BATCH MATES)

So during the annual Hunger Games (aka enrollment week) in my Uni, I try to message a lot of friends as possible asking what classes they’re taking for the following semester and we try to plot out a schedule that is beneficial to both parties. While it could be fun to be in the same class with your friends outside of your course (or if you’re a loser like me and have a lot of the younger batches as your friends,) there are cons like:

  • Getting into an argument and ruin your friendship
  • Them not doing their part in a group work
  • Getting annoyed eventually

Although for the most part, having someone you know in the same class as you is such a life saver! If you’re in the same CSR class as me, you’d know I’m not listening in class but I still like my class because I’m beside my friends and mostly do chika throughout the class.

 

STRUGGLE: HAVING AN IRREGULAR SCHEDULE MEANS IRREGULAR BREAKS AND IT MEANS MORE GASTOS!!!

file_0001
One of my favorite meals from Bob’s Jr – Buffalo Wings!!! which is very convenient since it’s just across the Uni. Price: PHP 120. Includes drink and a side dish 

Since I have my lunch break at 2pm, (and I have straight classes since 9:30am-2:30pm!), I’d always get hungry around lunch and it’s not good if I do decide to go on a diet!! I’d usually end up eating chicken or chicken, or just not eat at all. It’s unhealthy, and if I do decide to eat, I spend a lot. Sometimes, I’d prefer to eat alone during lunch or just chill at the office and not eat at all.

Irregular breaks also makes me want to pull a cigarette and get a bottle of booze. and is tempting me to cut class most of the time. Sorry, family!

It sometimes gets too overwhelming but I guess its payback for the life we chose. But an extra wouldn’t hurt right? It means we’d have two yearbooks (quite priceyyyyy), an extra year to really figure things out, two diplomas, and personally, I’d think it would give us an extra edge.

 

Leave a Reply

